ride map https://www.toptrailhorse.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/map.jpg
SHARE

Have You Ever Forgotten to END and SAVE Your Track After Your Ride?

Well, let’s just say… it happens A LOT! Wouldn’t it be nice to be able to edit it before you upload it to your Top Trail account and realize that your track is 55 miles long, goes down the highway and ends up at your house with speeds recorded up to 65 mph?

We held a Zoom meeting on Thursday, May 7 and played around with a few tracks using Garmin BaseCamp to show how, with a little practice, just how easy it is to fix this common scenario. If you want to see the recorded meeting here’s a link to the VIDEO.

If you’d like to go ahead and download Garmin BaseCamp to your computer here’s a link (it should be FREE): https://www.garmin.com/en-US/software/basecamp/

At the conclusion of the meeting, it was decided that a how-to post with screen shots would be helpful so here we go.

It’s happened to all of us…

Here’s the scenario… You trailered out and enjoyed a lovely ride at your favorite trailhead with your favorite pony. It was fabulous. You finished the ride, untacked, loaded up, and headed home. Sometime later in the day or even the next day you remembered you need to upload your ride track to Top Trail.

So you upload the track to your Top Trail account and it’s then that you realize the track you just uploaded is 18 miles in length… but you only rode about 8. What to do?? Well, you can contact us at toptrailhorse@gmail.com and let us know what happened along with attaching the original .GPX file so we can edit it for you.

OR, you can learn a new skill and that is editing the track yourself and uploading it manually to your account.

How To Do This — You Can Do It — Really, You Can!

First you have to get the GPX file of your ride from your app to your computer. There are different processes for different apps. It just depends. Or you can download the track from your Ride Log > Ride Detail screen on your Top Trail account.

Once you have downloaded the GPX file to your computer, launch (open) the BaseCamp app on your computer.

In BaseCamp, click “My Collection” (left hand column under “On My Computer”) to highlight where the file will go…
Pull down “File” and select “Import into ‘My Collection’..”

You will be directed to your computer’s finder. Hopefully you have a “Downloads” folder where all your downloads go :). Look in that folder for your file and select it.

Now double click the name of the track as shown in the diagram and your trail maps will appear along with a detailed summary of each point in the ride.

Scroll through the Summary and select all the points that should not be included in the track. Usually they’re all at the beginning or all at the end. This file shows the points at the end of the track selected for deletion.

After you have selected the points to be deleted click the “gear” symbol as shown in the screen shot and select “Delete Selected Point(s).”

Now you have your edited track.

Drop your cursor in the Summary box and Select All. Then go to the “File” menu and pull down to select “Export Selected User Data.”

Save the edited track on your computer in a place where you will be able to find it when you use the “Add Ride” screen on Top Trail for the manual upload process.

Congratulations. You have edited your track! Now you can upload it to your Top Trail account manually. If you have never manually uploaded a track before, here’s a helpful link: https://www.toptrailhorse.com/how-to-manually-upload-recorded-tracks-to-your-account/

Still Need Help? No Worries

As always, if you ever have a question or would like assistance, give us a shout on the Facebook group, Facebook page, or send us an email.

SHARE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *